Saturday, March 25, 2023

The Guardians Made History Thanks To Great Defense

Must Read
(Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)


The defense of the Cleveland Guardians was one of many reasons why the team proved their doubters wrong, won the American League Central, and made it all the way to the ALDS.

And so, when defense is top notch, your team is bound to have at least one player earn a Gold Glove Award.

The Gold Glove Award winners in both the American League and National League were announced yesterday, and four of them belong to the Guardians.

Pitcher Shane Bieber, outfielders Steven Kwan and Myles Straw, and second baseman Andres Gimenez all received Gold Gloves.

This was also the first time the Guardians had four or more players win Gold Gloves in their franchise history.


Guardians Dominate Gold Glove Awards

The Guardians, much like the St. Louis Cardinals last season, dominated the Gold Glove Awards.

The previous record of most Gold Gloves by a Guardians team was set back in 2000, when infielders Roberto Alomar, Omar Vizquel, and Travis Fryman each earned Gold Gloves.

The Guardians were not expected to do much this season after a quiet offseason.

But they were buoyed by the emergence of Kwan and Gimenez, as well as some fantastic defense.

Ultimately, it earned them their first AL Central title since 2018 and a trip to the ALDS.

The Guardians were second in the American League behind the New York Yankees and third in all of Major League Baseball in Defensive Runs Saved.

Cleveland finished 92-70 in the regular season and reached the postseason for the fifth time in the last eight seasons.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Why We Opened The Belgrade Bitcoin Hub

With a rich history and recent evolution, Belgrade is now home to the latest Bitcoin working and presentation space. ...

More Articles Like This